Bethune Bulldogs 2017 Robert Schultz Cup Champions

The Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Lumsden Monarchs 7-2 on Thursday evening and claimed the Robert Schultz Cup for the third year in a row. The Bulldogs won all 17 of their regular season games and won all 6 of their playoff games. Andrew Perrault opened the scoring in the game on a power play to give the Monarchs a 1-0 lead. Derek Fuchs would score on the power play and late in the period Joel Kot would put the Bulldogs in the lead going into the second period. The game stayed 2-1 until almost eleven minutes into the second period when Drew George would score. Joel Kot would then get his second goal of the game and Mike Reich would score and the Bulldogs led 5-1 after two periods. Jesse Matlock would score the Monarch’s second goal early in the third period. Drew George would score his second goal of the evening just after that. All-Star defenceman Joel Kot would complete his hat trick with a shorthanded goal with six seconds left in the game. All-Star goalie Ryan Holfeld picked up the win in the Bethune net and Kurtis Sollosy was in the Lumsden net. Considering Kurtis had not played a game this year and was pressed into service just before the game he did very well facing 48 Bethune shots. Bethune had six minor penalties and Lumsden had three. With his two goals All-Star left winger Drew George ended up tied with Torrey Lindsay for the Playoff scoring lead. Each player had 18 points. The Bulldogs have now won the Robert Schultz Trophy three years in a row. This is their fifth League Championship win having also won in 1972 and 1974.

The Bulldogs now prepare to defend their Provincial ‘A’ Championship against the Wilkie Outlaws of the Sask West Hockey League. Game one is Saturday evening in Bethune at 8:00 p.m. Game two is next Friday evening in Wilkie and if you are interested in a ticket for the fan bus…contact Maria Bitz in Bethune.