President's Update - March 8th, 2018

League Playoffs Update….The Bethune Bulldogs defeated the Strasbourg Maroons 9-3 at home last Thursday evening to take a 1-0 lead in the best of five semi-final. Mike Reich had two goals, including a power play goal, and two assists for the Bulldogs. Carter Smith scored twice and had three assists.  Drew George, Derek Fuchs and Jacob Ulmer also scored for the Bulldogs. Coltyn Sanderson scored on the power play and the last goal was a shorthanded effort from Matt Delahey. Mike Arnold, Garret Lockeridge and Tyson Orban with a power play goal scored for the Maroons. Ryan Holfeld stopped 28 shots in the Bethune net and Dallin Sorenson stopped 42 shots in the Strasbourg net. The Bulldogs had five minor penalties and the Maroons had three. This past Wednesday evening the Bulldogs defeated the Maroons 6-1 in Strasbourg to take a 2-0 led in the series. Coltyn Sanderson led the way for the Bulldogs with a natural hat trick. Mike Reich, Chris Merkel and Derek Fuchs also scored for the Bulldogs. Sean Delwo scored the lone Strasbourg goal. Ryan Holfeld stopped 25 shots in the Bethune net and Rhett Freistadt stopped 44 shots in the Strasbourg net. The Maroons had ten minor penalties and the Bulldogs had six. Game three is Thursday in Bethune with the remaining games if necessary being played on Tuesday in Strasbourg and Wednesday in Bethune.

2017-18 Highway Hockey Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2017-18 Award winners

Most Valuable Player (Lumsden Hotel Trophy) - Kyle Hall, Cupar Canucks

Most Valuable Player/Local (Eckdahl-Jenkins Memorial Trophy) - Tyrell Shulko, Raymore Rockets

Most Sportsmanlike Trophy - Brady Aulie, Lumsden Monarchs

Rookie of the Year (Stats-Van Trott Trophy) - Drew Wilde, Southey Marlins

Tyson Sievert HHL Scoring ChampionTrophy - Kyle Johnson, Lumsden Monarchs

Gunnar Lindal Team Goaltending Trophy - Ryan Holfeld, Ryan Seibel, Riley Christison Bethune Bulldogs

League Pennant - Bethune Bulldogs

Lynwood Millar Coach of the Year Trophy - Jason Swalm, Cupar Canucks

Ken Hale Memorial Plaque Manager of the Year - Randy Kuntz, Lumsden Monarchs

All Star Goalie - Ryan Holfeld, Bethune Bulldogs

All Star Defenceman  - Joel Kot, Bethune Bulldogs

All Star Defenceman - Tyler Bell, Raymore Rockets

All Star Center - Kyle Hall, Cupar Canucks

All Star Right Wing - Tyrell Shulko, Raymore Rockets

All Star Left Wing - Carter Smith, Bethune Bulldogs

All winners will receive a plaque.

President's Update - February 28th, 2018

Lumsden takes 1-0 lead in semi-final...The Lumsden Monarchs defeated the Raymore Rockets 11-7 on Tuesday evening in Lumsden taking a 1-0 lead in the best of five HHL semi-final. It certainly was not a defensive battle. The first period saw Raymore take a 3-1 lead. In the second period the Rockets had a 5-2 lead before Lumsden stormed back with four goals and had a 6-5 lead going into the third period. In the third period the Monarchs increased their lead to 7-5 before the Rockets scored twice to tie the game. The Monarchs would score the final four goals to make the final 11-7. Liam Brennan led the way for the Monarchs with four goals, including a power play goal, and two assists. League scoring leader Kyle Johnson had two goals and three assists for the Monarchs. Also scoring for the Monarchs were Josh Beaudry, Justin Nychuk, Austin Preete, Braeden Adamyk and Torrey Lindsey who scored the game winner. Michael Jordan and Tyler Bell led the way for the Rockets with each scoring two goals. One of Bell's goals was on the power play. Braden Bentz had a goal and two assists. Tyrell Shulko and Drew Kocur also scored for the Rockets. Will Hood made 35 saves in the Lumsden net and Riley Focht-Gabriel made 29 saves in the Raymore net. Lumsden was one for four one the power play and Raymore was one for five. Game two of this series in Tuesday in Raymore at 8:00 and game three is Wednesday at 8:00 p.m. (?) in Lumsden. The Bethune/Strasbourg best of five series starts in Bethune on Thursday evening in Bethune at 8:15. Game two of this series is on Wednesday evening at 8:00 p.m. in Strasbourg and game three is on Thursday evening in Bethune.


Subscribe to RSS - blogs